Reigning champions South Korea changes roster for Overwatch World Cup playoffs - Dexerto

Reigning champions South Korea changes roster for Overwatch World Cup playoffs

Published: 22/Oct/2018 18:20 Updated: 22/Oct/2018 18:25

by Joe O'Brien


The final rosters for the Overwatch World Cup playoffs have been announced.

[ad name=”article1″]

The playoffs will see the eight remaining national squads battle for the title at BlizzCon, November 2-3.

Each nation in the World Cup had to submit a 12-man roster before the lock ahead of the group stages, but only seven players can actually compete for each team in any given stage. With the playoffs fast approaching, the final squads for all eight teams have now been locked in.

In most cases, teams elected to stick with the same rosters that got them to the playoffs in the first place by finishing in the top two of their respective group stage.


[ad name=”article2″]

Notable, however, is the roster of the defending World Champions, South Korea. Having won the title in both 2016 and 2017, South Korea will be looking for a third consecutive win at this year’s event.

For their group stage, which took place on home soil in Incheon, South Korea, the team fielded a roster largely based on that of the New York Excelsior, with Philadelphia Fusion’s Lee ‘Carpe’ Jae-hyeok and LA Valiant’s Koo ‘Fate’ Pan-seung the only non-Excelsior players of the seven.

Though South Korea conceded just two maps in their group stage on their way to locking in the top seed, the team has opted to swap out some players, moving away from the NYXL-heavy core.


[ad name=”article3″]

DPS Park ‘Saebyeolbe’ Jong-ryeol, flex fank Kim ‘MekO’ Tae-hong, and support Hong ‘ArK’ Yeon-jun, all of the Excelsior, have been replaced by Seoul Dynasty DPS Kim ‘Fleta’ Byung-sun, London Spitfire flex tank Kim ‘Fury’ Jun-ho, and NYXL support Jeong ‘Anamo’ Tae-seong.

The following rosters will represent their countries at the 2018 World Cup playoffs.

South Korea

Player Role Team
Koo ‘Fate‘ Pan-Seung Main Tank Los Angeles Valiant
Kim ‘Fury‘ Jun-ho Flex Tank London Spitfire
Kim ‘Fleta‘ Byung-sun DPS Seoul Dynasty
Kim ‘Libero‘ Hae-seong DPS New York Excelsior
Bang ‘JJoNak‘ Seong-hyun Support New York Excelsior
Jung ‘Anamo‘ Tae-sung Support New York Excelsior
Lee ‘Carpe‘ Jae-hyeok DPS Philadelphia Fusion

United States

Player Role Team
Indy ‘Space‘ Halpen Flex Tank Los Angeles Valiant
Shane ‘Rawkus‘ Flaherty Support Houston Outlaws
Jay ‘Sinatraa‘ Won DPS San Francisco Shock
Austin ‘Muma‘ Wilmot Main Tank Houston Outlaws
Zachary ‘Zachareee‘ Lombardo DPS Fusion University
Grant ‘Moth‘ Espe Support San Francisco Shock
Joao Pedro ‘Hydration‘ Goes Telles DPS Los Angeles Gladiators

United Kingdom

Player Role Team
Cameron ‘Fusions‘ Bosworth Main Tank British Hurricane
Eoghan ‘Smex‘ O’Neill Flex Tank NRG Esports
Isaac ‘Boombox‘ Charles Support Philadelphia Fusion
Harrison ‘Kruise‘ Pond Support Toronto Esports
Michael ‘MikeyA‘ Adams DPS British Hurricane
Finley ‘Kyb‘ Adisi DPS British Hurricane
Kai ‘KSP‘ Collins DPS


Player Role Team
Terrence ‘SoOn‘ Tarlier DPS LA Valiant
Benjamin ‘Unkoe‘ Chevasson Support Dallas Fuel
Dylan ‘AKM‘ Bignet DPS Dallas Fuel
Gael ‘Poko‘ Gouzerch Flex Tank Philadelphia Fusion
Michael ‘Winz‘ Bignet Support
Benjamin ‘Benbest‘ Dieulafait Main Tank
Micolas ‘Nicogdh‘ Moret DPS


Player Role Team
Lane’ Surefour‘ Roberts DPS Los Angeles Gladiators
Brady ‘Agilities‘ Girardi DPS Los Angeles Valiant
Liam ‘Mangachu‘ Campbell DPS XL2 Academy
Christopher ‘Bani‘ Benell Support Houston Outlaws
Félix ‘xQc‘ Lengyel Main Tank
William ‘Crimzo‘ Hernandez Support Team Envy
Lucas ‘Note‘ Meissner Flex Tank Boston Uprising


Player Role Team
Cai ‘Krystal‘ Shilong DPS T1w Esports Club
Xu ‘Guxue‘ Qiulin Main Tank LGD Gaming
Li ‘Yveltal‘ Xianyao Support LinGan Esports
He ‘Sky‘ Junjian Support
Ma ‘LateYoung‘ Tianbin Flex Tank Team CC
Huang ‘Leave‘ Xing DPS
Zheng ‘Shy‘ Yangjie DPS LGD Gaming


Player Role Team
Joona ‘Fragi‘ Laine Main Tank Philadelphia Fusion
Joonas ‘Zappis‘ Alakurtti Flex Tank
Jonas ‘Shaz‘ Suovaara Support Los Angeles Gladiators
Benjamin ‘BigGoose‘ Isohanni Support Los Angeles Gladiators
Jiri ‘Linkzr‘ Masalin DPS DPS
Timo ‘Taimou‘ Kettunen DPS DPS
Tuomo ‘Davin‘ Leppänen DPS DPS


Player Role Team
Ashley ‘Trill‘ Powell Main Tank Blank Esports
Leyton ‘Punk‘ Gilchrist Flex Tank Dark Sided
Huseyin ‘Hus‘ Sahin DPS Blank Esports
Felix ‘CKM‘ Murray DPS Blank Esports
Dario ‘Akraken‘ Falcao-Rassokha Support Sydney Drop Bears
Scott ‘Custa‘ Kennedy Support Los Angeles Valiant
James ‘Yuki‘ Stanton DPS Dark Sided